Subculture: The Early Years 12"

Common People Records


Subculture was formed by school friends Dean Tyrrell (Guitar) and Phil Parker (Bass) in late 1980. After some months find Nigel Kimberly (as drummer) and the singer Tom Hipkin. In April 1982, the band then recorded demos at the now mythical Spaceward Studios, with whom Stiff Little Fingers had recorded Inflammable Material, and Iron Maiden had cut their first recordings. Voice of the Young, University City and The first version of Stick Together. During their first years supporting bands as Red Alert, at Skunx they also played with Blitz, The Business, and Peter and the Test Tube Babies amongst others, and established themselves in the street punk / Oi scene forming in London at the time. Mentions in the music press followed, with encouraging reviews, particularly in Sounds and Melody Maker. The Band were on the way: "Subculture show a lot of promise for the future " and "the sort of band you could see yourself raving about after seeing them a few times” Despite being labelled "young Cockney Rejects sound-a-likes”, they didn't see it as such a bad thing at the time. In May 1982, guitarist Dean received a phone call from Laurie Pryor inviting the band contribute a track on the 4th Oi! album, "Oi, Oi, that's yer lot!". They chose 'Stick Together', which was produced by Micky Geggus. The band's debut and only single "Loud and Clear E.P" came out in the early summer of 1983, with a new version of University City and Rogue Trooper recorded back at Spaceward especially for the single, so we all behaved ourselves and pretended to be professionals for the session. The single made a good showing in the Indie top 40 for a few weeks. Common People Records presents all tracks recorded by the band in their first years (included Demos), with the 3 tracks that includes “Loud & Clear” EP (1983), “Give Up Boys” recorded at the same session that “Loud & Clear” EP, “Stick Together” anthem taken from “Oi! Oi! That’s Yer Lot” classic compilation and the rest taken from ABH/Subculture “The Oi! Collection” CD released by Captain Oi!. Limited edition to 520 copies! 10 tracks!
Tags: 80s oi! reissues uk uk82