Despised Icon: Day of Mourning 12" (new)

Century Media Records


Brutally intense, unrelenting and outright savage are just a few ways the metal community described the 2009 offering from Montreal's hottest export Despised Icon as their fourth full-length effort, Day of Mourning, is a true lesson in violence. The material contained here should come bearing a caution label stating "Is known to evoke extreme erratic and violent tendencies coupled with a desire to kill."

The dichotomy of the dual vocal assault of Alex Erian and Steve Marois adds the depth and dynamic that few bands can attempt to replicate. The addition of bassist Max Lavelle quickly proved his skills keeping up with the maniacal drumming of Alexandre Pelletier who delivers his most impressive performance yet, raising the bar for his peers within the genre. Longtime guitarist Eric Jarrin and newcomer Ben Landreville rounded everything out with a blistering, frenetic barrage of cut-throat riffs.

Despised Icon brought on board an all-star team for the Day of Mourning recording process. They joined back up with longtime producer (and former guitar player) Yannick St-Amand for all tracking duties with renowned producer Andreas Magnusson (Haste The Day, Born of Osiris) entering the fold to mix the effort, with mastering being handled by Alan Douches (Mastodon, The Dillinger Escape Plan, Nile).

Erian states: "The record sounds like a beast! This was by far the smoothest and quickest it's ever been for us in the studio. This is without a doubt our strongest effort to date. All these years of playing and touring have made us better musicians and songwriters. We started this band before the deathcore trend and this fourth record is proof that we'll always be a step ahead of the pack."
Tags: 00s metal reissues